� � � � Good Times � � � �
04/30/2004

today was just a little insane at work. it got really ridiculous with emails i had to respond to before the end of the day. i had to stay late. i still have to pack up a monster amount of stuff. Brendan seemed to have a crazy day too - he also had to stay late doing work when we both intended to leave early today. i'm picturing our new apartment that will have nothing but boxes in it and it looks in my mind a lot like an art studio. i think it will be exciting buying furniture one piece at a time and cherishing its usefulness singularly. i may even start giving things names. this is so exciting - and even more exciting will be my new, soon-to-arrive big girl bed (as Amanda likes to put it.) i've never owned a real bed of my own - i've only ever had futons of my own and they are e-v-i-l!

today i bought a new toaster oven as i guess we'll be living without cooking gas until Wednesday of next week (i.e. camping). i think you can cook an entire meal in a toaster oven. or at least i will try to. more on that to come.

am i going to miss this apartment?
I have to say that despite so many wonderful memories in this place I really won't. I think this chapter of my life is ready to end and a new one begin. I remember when I moved into this place in February of 2002. It was really exciting for me to have such a big place to myself and probably even more important is that it represented my resurrection in a way. I had come back from living in London at the end of December 2001 right before the holidays. I had no place to live, no money, no job, no school, and had just broken up with my boyfriend (who later resurfaced with an engagement ring only to find out later that we weren't right for eachother. But those of you who know me know this story well.)

Chicago in a post 9-11 economy in the worst employment months and weather was just extremely depressing. I stayed at a friend's house sleeping on her sofa (covered in cat hair - allergy!) and desperately searching for graduate schools and jobs.

I got accepted to DePaul, found a job (this one - though I knew it was shitty I was happy to make peanuts over nothing) and got this apartment. It has been my sanctuary of strength and independence ever since. I love all my memories here in this place and I think a lot of people will remember me in this apartment.

I'm looking forward to building a strong new shared home with Brendan-bunny. I know we'll have lots of love to pour over everything and plenty of respect to allow us both to be happy with our lives. Good times!!!

< < rotting veg � � � � fresh veg > >

� the life of bunny volstead �
carrots
celery
nest
�� rabit patch ��
email
0 comments so far


��� the other animals ���
get yer own bunny patch